One-Shot: A teen Story

A Short-Story I did for English class with the topic “A teen movie script”. It came out pretty good, but my friends were afraid it turned out a little too slashy for me to read out loud.

I know the summary sounds pretty lame, but i hope you will still read it. :3

Title: A Teen Story
Rating: G
Warning: Homoerotical Subtext, mention of pranks?
Summary: Marco; prankster of the basketball team. Martin; weird loner of the school. Nothing really connects them besides their class schedule, but when they meet one afternoon in detention, how will they get along?

Looking down at the paper lying in front of me, I had to wonder how the hell I ended up in detention. I vaguely remember a prank on some guy going wrong with one of my friends and the next thing I know, I was sitting in this incredibly bleak room, forced to do homework.

Eyes were watching me and I quickly wrote something down to not to seem suspicious. Honestly, I resented my friends to just leaving me hanging like that. For all their bravado, there were pretty big cowards when it came down to it. Sure, the teacher was pretty scary when he caught me but it was no reason to panic and run like that.

It’s not like blowing up a few lockers with paint was a big deal after all.

I looked up again when the teacher got up from his desk, his bald head shining in the light.

“Alright boys, behave. I have to make a call.” The door closed behind him and I could only stare in wonder. ‘Boys’? What did he mean with that? My eyes wandered over the room until the landed on someone in the back row. A bright yellow beanie was covering most of his head but I could clearly make out red hair beneath it.

How did I not notice him?

“Hey, what did you do?” I asked, a little curious.

When the boy showed no sign of movement, I just turned back to my homework. Fine, if he didn’t want to notice me then I won’t notice him either. Little late considering I already did but meh. Details.

We spend the next few moments in silence, only the scraping of our pens being heard. I would have loved to carry on with that but then something unfathomable happened. Doodling on the side of my paper, I just couldn’t figure out that one math problem. It didn’t only require the use of some formula but also a bit common sense and logical thinking. I wasn’t used to logical think. All I normally had to do was look good, win basketball games and think about my next prank.

Sighing, I leaned back in my seat and tapped my pen on the table. Normally someone else would do stuff like that for me but with only that other guy here… I could hardly go up to him and tell him to do it for me, even I had enough tact to know that. I looked over my shoulder again to see him hunched over his math text book and a little light went off in my head. Wait, I didn’t have to ask him to do it for me. With a grin, I got up from my chair and walked up to him, my math stuff in one of my hands and my pen in the other. Once I reached his desk, I hesitated but opened my mouth anyway.

“Hey there,” I said with the most charming smile I could manage. The boy snapped his head up, obviously startled. Glowing green eyes met my shining blue ones but I tried my best to not let myself get affected by them. But seriously, what’s wrong with those eyes. Holding up my homework, I put on a sheepish grin. “Could you help me with this question?”

The guy only blinked at me as if I didn’t speak his language. A few awkward moments passed before he moved the hand he hadn’t been supporting his head with to his ear.

“Pardon. You were saying?” I was a little surprised at the accent but the thing in his hand made me forget about it for a moment. An ear-bud. Well, that explains why he didn’t notice me the first time. I quickly snapped my eyes back to his when I noticed he was still waiting for me to answer.

“Uh, could you help me with this problem?” I was a little embarrassed now. Should have noticed he was listening to music.

“Let me see.” I handed him my paper and he quickly scanned it. After a few moments he patted the seat beside him. “Sit down, I will explain it to you.” Doing as told, I watched him as he explained me the problem. It was actually pretty easy, now that he told me.

“So that’s how it is! Thanks.” He nodded and turned back to his own work. Silence stretched over us again and I had to resist the urge to just start babbling. One of his head phones was still out, so he could still hear me.

“So, your accent is pretty weird. Where are you from?” Damn you urges!

“Australia.”

“I see! Australia is a pretty nice place. Were you born here or there? Well, you have their accent so you have to be born there I suppose. I have you ever seen a kangaroo? Are they really that big? I always wondered how they carry their babies in their pouches. Are they really flexible so that the whole baby can fit in or something? I suppose it is pretty cute but really, how does that work?” I halted in my babbling and looked at him again, eyes wide. “That’s right, what’s your name anyway?” He was silent for a moment, glancing at me with those ridiculously green eyes, before answering me.

“You do realise it’s incredibly rude to ask for someone’s name before introducing yourself, right?” I actually felt myself blushing at that. Now that I think about it, it was very rude. Just what was wrong with me today? Normally, I was known as a smooth talker, not an awkward babbling idiot.

“R-Right, I’m Marco. And you are?” Add stuttering to the list, I suppose.

“Martin. And I was only teasing you, I already knew your name.” I blinked in surprise.

“Huh? How?”

“Not only are we in the same year, we also share most of the courses. Besides, even if we didn’t it appears that your reputation is preceding you.” His eyes turned to slits and he stared at me for a moment. “You really are not someone to pay much attention to his surroundings, are you?” I just gaped at him. That was… the most criticism anyone has given me in years! It felt weird, like I should be angry that someone pretty much just called me stupid but I was actually impressed. Impressed that someone had the guts to tell me that and not be afraid they are the next victim of my pranks. He chuckled at me (I must have looked pretty stupid right now) and placed his chins on his palms. “I cannot blame you for not noticing me, though. The likes of you rarely associate with my kind.” Blinking, I got closer to him, almost making our faces touch.

“What do you mean with that?” Honestly baffled, I didn’t understand what he meant. ‘My kind’? What the hell?

“I suppose I mean the ‘In-crowd people’ have cast me apart from the rest of the school. It is not common for someone as popular as you to talk to me.” My eyes widened. Oh. Oh. So that’s what he meant.

“I don’t get it. You seem like a good guy to me.” Another chuckle in response.

“I’m rather flattered that you say that but I must admit I’m rather… odd. No one really wishes to spend time with me.”

“That’s the same thing everyone said about me back in Middle School and look how that came out!” I didn’t know why I was so determined to encourage this guy. What was wrong with me? Thinking, I let my mind wander for a moment until an idea popped into my head. “Hey, how about we hang out together? Weirdos should stick together, right?” Nothing could have stopped the smile spreading over my face so I didn’t even bother. Martin blinked at me but smiled back in the end.

“That would be… quite nice. Yes, I would like that.”

“Great! So, what are you listening to anyway?”

We kept talking with each other, about our hobbies, friends, even embarrassing stories we never told anyone else before. We actually had a lot in common. Martin and I would have probably talked until sunrise if the teacher hadn’t come back and forced me to get back to my seat. After we were released, we bid our farewells and walked home, each of us in a better mood than before.

I couldn’t help but looking forward to see the green-eyed boy with his ridiculous yellow beanie tomorrow.

I actually liked the beanie, it reminded me of sunshine.

Now that I think about it, I never found out why he had detention.

Leave a Reply

